Karl Mason and Walter Lyon Awards



Marci Mowery – Karl Mason Recipient

Wildlife Leadership Academy – Walter Lyon Recipient (Michele Kittel Connolly, Director pictured)


Recipients of the 2021 Karl Mason and Walter Lyon Awards have been announced. Marci Mowery (PA Parks and Forests Foundation) has received the Karl Mason Award, while the Walter Lyon Award has been awarded to the Wildlife Leadership Academy (Michele Kittel Connolly, Director).

Marci has contributed to Pennsylvania’s environmental efforts for over 29 years. She she has served as president of the Pennsylvania Parks and Forests Foundation since 2005. and continue contributing today. Her bio, background and achievements can be reviewed by clicking Marci Mowery. Click Wildlife Leadership Academy for information on the organization and its mission.

History – Karl Mason served as Pennsylvania’s first State Environmental Administrator from 1952 to 1966. Karl’s holistic vision of environmental management embraced essential, but conflicting, needs associated with waste disposal and community environmental protection. The general framework established by Karl serves as the foundation for Pennsylvania’s environmental protection programs to this day. Karl believed and put into practice the notion that environmental protection is primarily the business of professionals who have the skills, by virtue of their scientific training, to manage the technical and scientific complexities of maintaining a safe, healthy and clean environment. He was committed to the belief that continuing education was an essential part of the career of every environmental professional.

History – Walter Lyon began his professional career as a sanitary engineer at the U.S. Public Health Service in Washington D.C. serving as Assistant Chief of the Planning and Development Branch, Division of Engineering Resources from 1950-1954. He then served for three-years as the Assistant Chief of the Environmental Health Section, Philadelphia Department of Public Health. From 1983 to 2013, Walter went on to teach and consult in the areas of environmental engineering and water policy. For many years, Walter participated in the Pennsylvania Association of Environmental Professionals (PAEP) conferences and special events and generously shared his knowledge and experience. He was a strong advocate for employing highly educated, qualified, and experienced environmental professionals in the public and private sectors and serves as a role model for the environmental professionals of today and tomorrow.

Awards Structure – PAEP is pleased to honor their contributions to environmental professionalism and commemorate the vision of both of these pioneers. The awards are presented to professionals who made a unique and creative contribution to the field of environmental management in Pennsylvania with preference given to the fields of administration, law, regulation and community organization. The Pennsylvania Association of Environmental Professionals (PAEP) is the steward of the Karl Mason and Walter Lyon Awards.

Each year, the Karl Mason Award is presented to meritorious nominees selected by the PAEP Board of Directors. The Walter Lyon Award is selected in the same manner. One nominee will be chosen for the two categories as follows:

  • An individual who demonstrated exemplary leadership in the field of environmental management. (the Karl Mason Award)
  • An organization, project or program that made a unique, creative, or significant contribution toward maintenance or restoration of Pennsylvania’s environmental quality or to the field of environmental management. (the Walter Lyon Award)
Karl Mason
Karl Mason
Walter Lyons
Walter Lyon